Step 8: Waiting on Epic.

At 4 years old I had the strap on fairy wings, I had the mask, I had the magic glitter dust….whelp that’s it, bring on the battle! I had the power, obviously, and well I I knew I was ready to conquer the whole world……. so why wait? I had it together, I was good to go. Game on bad guys, bring it! I will decimate you with my glitter powers.

That’s what I saw. My EPIC moment. And that’s all I saw. At 4 years old I had no idea what it would cost.

 

I didn’t realize that the moment I would finally take flight would take years of preparation. Or that in order to use my glitter dust I would need to have the character to use it appropriately. I didn’t know that my wings wouldn’t be mine until I could handle the weight of seeing things from above.

There’s so much I didn’t know about my epic moment. But I quickly learned, nothing about it would be easy. Nothing about impact, character, legacy, depth or selflessness is easy. And you know what makes it harder? Those who don’t care as much will almost always finish first. They will always get the first applause. And in the world’s view sometimes they are the ultimate achievers.

So how do you push through? How do you keep this impact thing up? How do you continue to fight when everyone else settles? How do you get up, gear up and battle up when you are simultaneously also fighting the status quo?

The simple answer is (as Nike knows) you just do it. You keep going. You don’t quit.

However, you also hold fast to the purpose behind your battle. Those who live heroically eventually get their moment. And let’s just be clear no this is not the point of impact. No this is not the ultimate goal of impact. But sometimes the battles get hard and you have to be able to remind yourself that what you are doing on the daily…MATTERS.

There will come a point where you will ask yourself, “Why am I trying so hard when I don’t see the victory?”

These are the times I like to entitle……WAITING ON EPIC.

Because we all want that moment. The moment where we see the impact we made. It’s rewarding, it’s encouraging! And the waiting sucks! There’s no nice way to put it, it’s hard, its tough and it SUCKS. However, those times of WAITING ON EPIC become the most formative times of life.

WAITING ON EPIC. Waiting on epic moments. Waiting on epic impact. Waiting on epic fulfillment. Waiting on epic victories. Waiting on epic promises. WAITING ON EPIC.

It is hard, it’s exhausting and most people, quit.

I know. I live here. Welcome to my whole life. I kid you not, I will blog about it eventually but let’s just say that this isn’t book theory this is “Bre Life Theory”. Waiting on epic is hard as heck.

I could quit. I could choose easy. You could quit. You could choose easy. We know we would get there faster, because others do it. We could cheat. We could short cut. We could compromise. We know it would work because others do it. We know that this is the obviously most difficult route. We know we could end the waiting. We know we could do a million other things to reach our goal. But I think we also know at the end it would just be a goal, it wouldn’t be epic. And that’s worse then any waiting.

Epic is built in the moments no one else sees.

…..Epic is what makes this whole thing so big. It’s the fact that it costs all of you. That you can’t go small. That you have to be big. It’s the limits you thought you had that you defy. It’s the depth you find inside of you. It’s what makes the waiting matter. Epic.

Waiting on Epic? This is where YOU are BUILT.

It’s not the decision to live a life of impact that builds you it’s the moments between the victories that build you. Wait did you catch that?

You are built waiting on EPIC. When you see nothing about your moment of epic victory, YOU ARE BEING BUILT. 

Without the building of you, the end is just a goal. It’s just a win. It’s just a moment. But when you see you being built between the victories. That’s where the epic happens. That’s what turns the win into an EPIC win, the moment into an EPIC moment and reaching your goal into an EPIC achievement.

Sometimes I spend so much time focusing on making this massive impact that I forget the now. I forget that the waiting on epic is what defines everything else.

Waiting on Epic. This is where I am built. The times no one sees, that’s where I become me. The battles I fight daily in secret, that’s where I become me. The moments where character wins and no one knows, that’s where I become me.

Waiting on Epic. For so long I thought that it was about this big moment that I was ready for and somehow the forces of time just had to choose me. That I was ready and I just needed someone to notice. That my climax was where the biggest part of my story would occur. This great moment, this great achievement, this great win, THAT would be my epic moment.

I was wrong. It was never a moment that was being built. It was me. It wasn’t the moment that I was waiting on. It was who I could become in the process. It wasn’t the epic I was waiting on.

 

It was me I was waiting on. 

 

Because without the me I would become, I was too small for my EPIC moment.

 

 

 

STEP 8: What is the EPIC moment you are waiting on? Now think of how you are using the waiting to become EPIC. 

 

If you missed Step 7 check it out!

 

Photo Credit 

2 thoughts on “Step 8: Waiting on Epic.”

Leave a Reply

